You and I

Walls of Sin
The Rocking Horse Winner
Exits and Entrances
The Crying Moon
Angel in Deep Water
Trouble at the Show
Live at the Bunker

Owen’s latest album ‘You and I’ reached the finals of the Tui Best Folk Music Album of 2007!

Owen’s latest CD (released on 14 November 2007) is a labour of love that has been almost 7 years in the making. Covering several themes, including first love (Tonight’s the First Night and You and I), mortality (Mrs Brown), humour (Meet Me When Your Baggage is Gone), regeneration (Put a Little Water in the Well) and nostalgia (Hollywood is Dead), Owen has remained true to his style while managing to capture the essence of a range of experiences that everyone will relate to.

The album has a ‘back to basics’ approach, using Owen‘s guitar as the main focus, backed up by newly found producer Craig Denham‘s classy piano playing. The album‘s concept was to stay true to Owen‘s live performances where he usually plays solo or has a few hand-picked top-notch accompanists.

Those hand picked for this album include Paul Symons on slide guitar, Martha Louise on backing vocals, Craig Denham on keyboard, accordian and whistle, Chris Nielsen on trumpet and Micheal Young on mandolin.

  • Hollywood is Dead
  • This Car
  • Mrs Brown
  • Wonder
  • You and I
  • Put a Little Water in the Well
  • If I Gave You my Heart
  • Meet me When Your Baggage is Gone
  • Tonight‘s the First Night
  • You‘ve Never Had Anyone Break Your Heart
  • Bored Busker‘s Instrumental
  • You Can‘t Come Back No More
© Anna Thomson 2010